AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

Supreme Court Take Up Phelps Case

leave a comment »

So the Supreme Court is going to take up the case of the Westboro Baptist Church funeral protests:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100308/us_nm/us_usa_military_funerals

Most of you will likely be familiar with Fred Phelps and his merry band of delusional nutballs.  To put it simply, they are a group of rabid anti-homosexual fundamentalists, and often will stage protests at funerals of fallen military members to get their hateful message out.  Their signs include “Thank God for IEDs” and “God Hates F**Gs.”  Their main message is that God is punishing us for allowing homosexuality in our society by killing our soldiers.

Now, I’m not going to start a debate on homosexuality.  Personally, on some level I believe that it is somehow wrong, but more basic, I don’t understand it because I simply am not wired that way.  For the most part, my own beliefs go to the fact that it is not for me to judge, and as long as what you are doing is with someone who wants to willingly do it with you, well, have fun.  Don’t throw it my face, no matter what you do, and I’ll keep my sexuality to myself as well.  We will all have to answer to our Maker someday, and He knows I’ve pulled some doozies in my day.

Instead, I would like to make a statement on the idea of protesting funerals in the first place.  While Phelps and his wackos have every right to hold their beliefs and speak out about them, I feel that discretion is often the better part of valor.  The Westboro Bums can stand on a street corner, hold their signs and chant “God Hates The World” all they want.  And truth be told, I would willingly lay down my life to protect their rights to speak openly, as the First Amendment guarantees us.  Just as the oath I took said when I spent seven years in the United States Navy.

But please, people; A funeral?  You know, I don’t care who you are or what you did, you can be the most vile serial killer, cannibal, murderer, child rapist, or Ponzi scheme operator,  in almost all instances, there will be someone who is saddened by your death.  Your mother, close friends, family members, spouses, whatever.

A funeral ceremony is for those people.  In all likelihood, someone will be grieving from their loss.  A funeral is NOT the place to try to make political points.  Save that for later.

Allow the family time to say goodbye, without vicious, nasty, hateful, poor excuses for human beings disrupting that process.  Especially at military funerals.  As far as I’m concerned, practically every one of them are heroes.  And the sick irony is that they gave their own lives to allow the demented protesters the right to yell sick things at their own funeral.

Fred Phelps, if you read this, or any of your sick twisted members happen across it, please consider my words.  Please show at least the dignity that you would want for yourselves or your own family.  Please keep this out of the headlines, even though I know that is actually all you want, you sick jerks.  The courts do not need to get involved, costing everyone time, money, and emotional stress, if all you would do is show a bit of decency.

Tell you what:  Do this, and I’ll promise that I won’t make it you your funeral holding up signs about, well, anything.  Because I won’t be there.  Mainly, because I just wouldn’t care.

Written by James Lee

March 8, 2010 at 21:27

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

