AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

Where Will This Lead

leave a comment »

Newsbusters carries the widely discussed outburst of Time’s Joe Klein this weekend on The Chris Matthews Show.

“I did a little bit of research just before this show – it’s on this little napkin here. I looked up the definition of sedition which is conduct or language inciting rebellion against the authority of the state. And a lot of these statements, especially the ones coming from people like Glenn Beck and to a certain extent Sarah Palin, rub right up close to being seditious.”

Read more: http://newsbusters.org/blogs/jeff-poor/2010/04/18/time-s-klein-beck-palin-potentially-committing-sedition-against-u-s-gover#ixzz0lakN7Dnf

This is really venturing into very scary territory. Once again, look back from 2000-2008 at the level of outrageous statements concerning the Bush Adminstration. No one seemed to care about this back then.

But now, now that their Precious Messiah is in office, no form of dissent can be tolerated. I guess the idea that questioning your government is patriotic ended on January 20th, 2009.

The really scary part is the ease at which “respected” so-called “journalists” can just throw this out. It’s like the merry cast of The Chris “I Really Wanted To Take Over Meet The Press” Matthews Show seem to think that anyone who speaks out against government overspending and overstepping their bounds should in some way be punished by a felony conviction.

Now, everyone is of course entitled to their respective opinion, and I don’t begrudge them from having one different from my own. Except in this case, it seems that instead of listening and debating to our arguments, they just want us to shut up.

While I’m actually a total nobody when it comes to influencing anyone out there, I want to assure you that I will not stop criticizing or speaking out, no matter how much you threaten me with charges, no matter how much you call me names like “tea bagger” or “raaaaacist!” And I am willing to fight to keep those rights for everyone, even those I disagree with. And there’s a lot more of us than there are of you, Mister Klein.

Because I know that once you stoop to the name-calling and blanket threats, it just proves that you can not tolerate other opinions, and you can’t argue on the merits.

This and everything else would be a total joke if matters were not so serious.

Written by James Lee

April 19, 2010 at 18:40

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

