AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

The Left’s Racism

leave a comment »

President Obama put out the call for all “young people, African-Americans, Latinos, and women who powered our victory in 2008 [to] stand together once again.”


Much has been said throughout the day on this, the choice of words, even a headline on Drudge titled “Obama Plays Race Card.” Instead of rehashing all that, I’m simply going to give my overall thoughts on the subject in general.

It annoys to me to no end that Democrats seek to divide everyone on racial and sexual lines. This is a tactic they have used, fairly successfully I might add, for decades. Personally, I blame Richard Nixon; in the 1960 Presidential campaign, he refused, or at least never got around to, meeting with Dr. Martin Luther King. Kennedy did. Never mind that King was pretty much a lifelong Republican, and that historically, prior to and since then, the Republicans have done more for the minority communities than the Democrats have. It was Democrats who filibustered the Civil Rights act of 1964, it only passed because Republicans forced the issue.

The biggest thorn in my side on the issue is that somehow it is required of a black person to vote for the “D,” regardless of anything else. If you are black, and have conservative views, you are mercilessly attacked for it. That is not what “I have a Dream” was all about.

During the timeframe of the 2000 Election, I was working in an area known as “Midtown” Kansas City. Most, about 75% or so, depending on the day, of our clientele was black or other minority. I spent time in the lobby where people were waiting on us to finish their cars, often with the television on. Campaign commercials flew, and I broached the subject with more than a few.

Without trying to give my own preferences, I was able to see that somewhere around half of the ones I discussed things with seemed to think that George W Bush might be the better choice. Very unscientific, and purely anecdotal and such, but there it is.

It was also around this same time frame that Urban Radio stations (read: “black”) were playing the commercial about if you “elect Republicans, another black church will burn.” The NAACP ran the ad that suggested that Bush did nothing with the dirt bags who drug the black gentleman in Texas to his death behind a pickup truck. (That may have been in ’04, but still goes to my larger point.) In fact, as governor of Texas, at least two of the three were sentenced to death. The list can go on and on.

The thing that seriously bothers me, is that the Left takes black votes for granted. Either through misinformation, intimidation, threats, or coercion, they do it every time. That November morning in 2000, I proudly wore my “I Voted Today” sticker. A well-dressed black woman inquired who I voted for. I told her, “Let me put it this way, I’ve been waiting for this day for EIGHT years!” Her eyes got big, she whipped a view around my lobby, and found another young black woman sitting there. She asked if the young woman had voted, to which the reply was “no.” She then almost insisted that the young woman should accompany her right now, they would get to the precinct, get her registered, and let her vote!

The fact the Left takes the black vote for granted is, in my mind, serious racism by itself. I will grant you, the black community supports Democrats around 90%, but why? What exactly have the Democrats done in the last 50 years to actually provide help to the black community? Welfare? Give someone just enough to discourage work and betterment of themselves and their families. Housing? Once an area goes to Section Eight housing, it’s a matter of a short time before the drug dealers and gangsters come it, destroying property values, lives, and security. “Family” assistance? They discourage single mothers from marrying the fathers by decreasing the welfare payments. Drugs, crime, prostitution, and violence run rampant in the poorest of neighborhoods, leaving a near death-spiral of hopelessness. Inner city schools graduate less than half the class, and half of those can not read with any proficiency, let alone find themselves prepared to excel in the workforce. For this Democrats have blacks undying support?

I’m not saying there are not problems, and I’m not saying the Republicans have done a lot better. But conservative ideas would be a much better answer that what we are doing now.

The conservative principles of smaller government, lower taxes, and expansion of businesses in the private sector would do more to help the poorest communities than any amount of money spent on welfare or assisted housing. Bringing more people into the workforce, giving them an honest day’s pay for an honest day’s work, and giving them dignity of taking care of themselves.

Just like Obama states in the above video, the Democrats depend on minority votes. It really gets my blood boiling that they, Obama included (a black man himself) seem to think they owe it to the Democrats to keep them in power. You know, it’s just like saying they are too stupid to think on their own and make up their own minds based on the merits of the idea.

If a black man, or a latina woman, or a white teenager, or a green martian for that matter (as long as they followed immigration laws and properly naturalized and registered to vote), can sit down and look at the facts, and decide for themselves that they might like this, but don’t like that, so therefore they will vote for candidate X, then I really don’t care who or what party candidate X represents. Just as long as they came to it on their own, using the multitude of resources available to everyone.

Democrats focus on our divisions. Black, Latin, Women, Men, White, are all nothing more than demographic voting blocs to them.

Conservatism, on the other hand, focuses on the individual, not the group. If the conditions are right, then every individual can succeed, every individual can persue happiness as our Founding Fathers intended.

All to often, the Left will attempt to address a concern of one group or another. The answer to them is not to let everyone rise up to overcome the concerns, but to tear everyone else down to help make things more “fair.” That is wrong for the people they are trying to help, and wrong for those caught in the crossfire. Everyone suffers more.

Sooner or later, I hope and pray that the intelligent, talented individuals in the various Democrat ‘plantation’ voting blocs start to realize what they actually believe, and vote accordingly.

I know those who happen across this writing will now try to label me as some kind of racist. Nothing could be further from the truth. Fact is, I’ve spent half my life trying to avoid and deflect anything that could be perceived as racism on my part. And I’m sick of it. You can call me whatever you want, I know better, the people who know me know better. I know the truth. And the truth is, I’m sick of your crap.

Written by James Lee

April 26, 2010 at 20:45

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

