AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

The View From My Door

leave a comment »

Last week, a firefighter in Shawnee, Kansas lost his life in the line of duty. Yesterday was the funeral, taking place not far from my place of business. Police departments, fire departments, and other first responders, as well as many family, friends, and supporters turned out for the procession, the route going right by my shop.

A day prior, I looked out to see the street lined with American flags. At first, I thought they were up for Memorial Day weekend, which Shawnee and Mission tend to do for several holidays. Later, I saw some volunteers attaching black ribbons to the flagpoles, and asked about it. They explained it was for the Glaser funeral.

It was a somber moment, the procession taking fifteen minutes or more to go by. I wonder if there were any complaints about this display of American Flags?


Written by James Lee

May 28, 2010 at 12:34

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

