AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

The Problem with Green Energy

with 2 comments

Pretty decent article in Forbes about the mathematics involved with so-called ‘green’ energy. Found the link over at Ace’s in the sidebar headlines, always a great source of thoughtfulness and amusement (sometimes at the same time!).

It’s a short article, and broken down so even a simpleton like me can understand it. And actually seems very similar to a much longer article, perhaps also in Forbes, I saw several months ago. Give it a quick read, and allow me to add my caveat whenever I see things like this stated in absolute terms: Always think in your mind “at today’s technology level.” Meaning that there might be something we can’t even predict happen tomorrow, and in 5 years we all have cars that run on magic crystals that are charged by solar radiation being blown into it by a windmill. Or maybe not. Either way, it’s still good food for thought.

http://www.forbes.com/2010/05/11/renewables-energy-oil-economy-opinions-contributors-robert-bryce_print.html

Written by James Lee

June 14, 2010 at 21:52

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James … I used a different handle last time I commented … to not cause confusion, I’ll stick with this one so you know who I am.

    I appreciated the link … I too am a simpleton and the article made simple, what can be a very confusing subject. I’ve even passed it on to help others get a better handle on these concepts.

    OdieO

    June 17, 2010 at 10:16

  2. Thanks, really appreciate the reads! Glad to help forward the cause.

    James Lee

    June 17, 2010 at 10:40


Leave a Reply

