AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

New Tone for Politics

with 4 comments

It’s come to my attention that perhaps I should consider changing the name of this blog. “A Shot,” after all, denotes firearms, which could be construed as “violent imagery.” And, adding “a beer” to that denotes a drunk gunman, never a good combination.

Perhaps I should simply refrain from any criticism of political decisions, as well. I mean, I have a right to say anything I wish to here, but that doesn’t mean that I should.

I know I tend to be a bit careful here, not to venture too far into profane territory, and generally try to make a point of clarifying “beat them at the ballot box” or “in the election,” and such. But that might not stop some unstable person, you know.

Why, after hours every day of listening to Glenn Beck, Rush, watching FOX News, and seeing Sarah Palin put “crosshairs” on congressional districts, my suggesting “taking out” Rep. Cleaver in the next election just might be the final push someone needs to snap an unstable mind and pull some stupid stunt resulting in damage, harm or death. Can’t have that.

And for that matter, I’ve put up a “heavy metal” song in the past. We all know how bad that music is, drawing people into devil worship and drug use. Right Mrs. Gore? I’ve seen that movie The Metal Years, after all.

Add to that, I’ve got several right-wing blogs just to your right listed on my blogroll. You all know just how hateful and vile that Michelle Malkin is, right? So maybe my simply including that there may send some nut over to her site, where they might not otherwise have looked, and be set off on a killing spree. Or the The Donovan, which regularly features firearms, and many military images and stories. Don’t know if I could sleep at night if that happened.

So I guess from now on, I’ll simply keep my opinions of anything even remotely “controversial” completely to myself. And should probably only put out links to sweet kitten and puppy pictures, and only comment on TMZ gossip. That never hurt anyone, after all, nor has it ever set anyone off.

And when others in the media, news, and internet blogs try to associate me, or others like me, with premeditated murder and conspiracy, maybe I should just keep it all to myself, because, of course, we need to tone down the rhetoric and maintain civility and all that happy hokey malarkey.

Of course, this whole thing is completely ridiculous. I have no intention of changing my name here, or “toning down” anything I say, with the possible exception of double-checking any “charged” language or perceived threats. But that’s more to protect myself than anything else.

Everyone needs to calm down, take a deep breath, and take things for what they are worth. No one in their right mind actually believes Palin, or Beck, or anyone else, is suggesting killing or otherwise harming political opponents. Nor did President Obama really mean to “bring a gun” to the fight. Just as ridiculous as to think my goal here is get drunk and shoot anyone.

Again, everyone, let’s keep things on a ‘professional’ level, and there’s nothing wrong with having a little bit of fun, such as “affectionate nicknames” of political figures. And when the occasional comment may go over the top every now and then, let’s not everyone go nuts and attribute meaning where there is none intended.

By all means, let’s all discuss, debate, and even disagree. But just because you might disagree with me doesn’t mean I think you hate me, nor will I hate you for expressing it.

Written by James Lee

January 11, 2011 at 18:23

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So you’re saying we should physically pick up ballot boxes and beat Democrats in the head with them?

    The Monster

    January 11, 2011 at 18:32

    • Well whatever else could I have meant? 😉

      James Lee

      January 11, 2011 at 18:33

      • I’m having a flashback to Shooting Star’s “Last Chance”

        No, no, no, you don’t understand!

        The Monster

        January 11, 2011 at 18:57

  2. post not working in firefox

    math games

    January 27, 2011 at 06:48


Leave a Reply

