AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

Dreams Crushed: Olbermann Out At MS-NBC

leave a comment »

Keith Olbermann, long time fixture in the MS-NBC primetime lineup, signed off of “Countdown With Keith Olbermann” for the last time on Friday night. No one is really sure of the exact reason he left yet, though speculation runs between new partners Comcast wanting him gone, to being fired for being supposedly hard to work with, to he just decided to leave on his own before he got fired.

Olby has been a long-time favorite whipping boy of the conservatives, as well. Listening to his rambling on politics would leave my mouth agape, in disbelief that he actually just said that. Perhaps I’m a bit biased, but my impression of him was he was doing what (he perceived, at least) his rivals at FOX News, namely Bill O’Reilly, were doing from the other side of the political spectrum. One could probably make that case more with Sean Hannity, but to my knowledge, he didn’t tend to make Hannity a continuous open target like he did O’Reilly.

His semi-regular feature known as the “Special Comment” was always great. He would take some righteous indignation with a particular person or event in the recent news cycle, and sound off in a rambling, sometimes barely coherent editorial, often lasting from 10 to 15 minutes. One of my favorites of these was him nearly yelling at the camera for then-President Bush to “SHUT. THE. HELL. UP!!”

Several websites followed Olbermann on a regular basis, pointing out his incorrect conclusions, hypocrisy, and other “errors” in his “reporting.” I think Keith loved that sort of attention, as he was able, or at least claim to be able, to link it back to FOX News somehow, and feed into the theme that “they” were trying to shut him up.

Personally, I don’t care what he said or how he said it. I barely watched his program, and the few times I did I was reminded every time why I didn’t. Just like every now and then I have to have a Big Mac, and every time I’m nursing that aching stomach I swear never again.

But as far as it goes, he was more than free to express his opinion. He had a platform, got paid good money, all built on that expression. No problem here. As long as the company wanted him there for whatever reason, he could continue as far as I was concerned. I’ve never been one to advocate firing a commentator for their views, after all, that’s the definition of a commentator, whether I like them or not.

In the end, though, whatever the reason he and MS-NBC parted company, I wouldn’t worry too much about where his next meal is coming from. He has an audience, and frankly a decent screen presence. He’ll find another platform, and will continue.

So, you may be asking yourself, just whose dreams are crushed then? Mine, of course!

With the end of “Countdown” also comes the end of one of his regular segments known as “Worst Person In The World.” The title was bestowed on whichever conservative he found most offensive for something they said or did.

And now, I will never have the chance to be named Worst Person. That was, after all, one of my goals with writing here. But alas, I guess it was never meant to be. I’ll just have to continue on as best I can.

Good night, and good luck, Keefums!

Written by James Lee

January 22, 2011 at 12:25

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

