AShotAndaBeer's Blog

Politics, Firearms, and things that amuse me

Donald Trump For President

with 2 comments

In recent weeks, New York gazillionaire Donald Trump has been getting lots of press, appearances, speculation, columns and internet attention on the idea that he might be gearing up to run for the Republican nomination for President.

He might be serious; on the other hand, he might just be after attention. After all, his TV Show “Celebrity Apprentice” is in the middle of its run right now, and as they say, there’s no such thing as bad publicity. Either way, he is causing a buzz.

One of the many things he keeps bringing up the Obama “Birth Certificate” story; for those that have been living under a rock, it has to do with the idea that Barack Obama may have been born someplace other than Hawaii and thus not eligible to be President. He claimed he’s got private investigators searching for answers, and they (and he) can’t believe what they’ve found so far.

Now, as far as it goes, do not count me as a “birther.” For my own opinion, his mother was an American Citizen, and if there was anything strange, it would be a technicality. For example, one of the theories claims he may have actually been born in Kenya, and while she was a citizen, she would have had to file certain paperwork upon return to the Unites States, which she supposedly did not do. As a I said, a paperwork technicality.

(And just for the record, I do have suspicions about it, but only at what is there; something ’embarrassing,’ but not disqualifying; for my money, I’m betting that Barack Obama, Sr, may not actually be listed as the father, or something along those lines.)

Now, to be fair to Trump, he is also talking about a lot more than Birther Conspiracies; he is hitting economics, energy production, foreign policy, and general ineptitude of this administration to whoever will give him air time. Too bad all that is lost in the static of the birth certificate nonsense.

Now, I’m not one to tend to jump on the ‘Flavor of the Week’ of potential Presidential nominees. I think we have several good, winning possibilities to run against Obama. Heck, I’m thinking that my nearly blind Beloved Lhasa would give him a good run! But, just for fun, let’s look at Trump.

There are several things that make Donald Trump an attractive possibility. People often think that our Government, especially with the debt and economic factors being what they are, might benefit from being run like a business. And that would be one Trump’s strong points. He’s built an empire, lost it, and rebuilt again.

And while some might wonder exactly where Obama’s loyalties lie in relation to America and the Capitalist system we favor, there can be no doubt that Trump loves America, and loves the capitalist system. Add to that that one does not get to the level of business that Trump has without having at least a clue of how to wheel and deal to get jobs done. And, think about him across the table from some American adversary? I don’t think he’d give away crucial defense secrets in order to get a photo-op handshake.

Bottom line, I actually suspect that Donald Trump is probably playing the news cycle for publicity; on the chance he is serious, I actually don’t think he’d survive too long in the primary process. But, assuming he is serious, and somehow makes it to the nomination, I have to say, I would probably support him.

Well, that’s easy to say; I think I would support anyone on the Republican side, especially against Obama, with (at least) one exception: Should the crazy Representative from Texas Ron Paul somehow end up with the Republican nomination, I would NOT support him, and would likely stay home on election day.

**Update** This morning, I wake up to this: If he doesn’t get the Republican nomination, he would ‘probably’ run as an independent. This is not good; I’m all for anyone who desires and has the means to seek whatever office they choose, but the effect on things this time would be the same as 1992, when Ross Perot split off enough conservative-leaning votes to hand the election to Bill Clinton.

Written by James Lee

April 11, 2011 at 20:31

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Donald Trump as President: http://youtu.be/nppPZYmNC4E

    Louis Barr

    May 2, 2011 at 09:36

  2. I heard a couple of guys talking about this in the New York subway so I looked it up online and found your page. Thanks. I thought I was right and you confirmed my thoughts. Thanks for the work you’ve put into this. I’d love to save this and share with my friends.

    Bette Donnelly

    May 9, 2011 at 14:40


Leave a Reply

